Dairy Of A Shore Thing #2

So, today I needed to get across to Grey Lynn from Belmont in order to meet my cleaner at 9am. I wanted to get there 30mins before her so I could remove the last of the crap from the rooms she was going to work on.

I left at 7:30am.

Just after 8:30am I reached the intersection of Esmonde Road and Barry’s Point Road. I got to Grey Lynn just after 9am. Crazy.

Lake Road and Esmonde Road in the morning are an abomination. This is just not going to be good adjusting to. Seriously, it’s the worst, most non-productive traffic experience in Auckland. And the forthcoming City Rail Link is not going to make any difference whatsoever. When I’m the benevolent Dictator of Auckland, I’m going to have the people build me a second harbour crossing. Damn straight.

Anyway, I turned up to continue my carloads and ‘moving out’, only to discover that there was a crew of blokes ashphalting the driveway and thereby preventing me from getting anywhere near my garage. I couldn’t load, and I lost a couple of strategically planned trips.

Today has been a chore. Some things went right, but I probably wasted at least 4-5 hours of the day either in my car, or waiting for people to turn up.

Still, one positive I’ve noticed is that my plants seem to love this Belmont micro-climate. This is a very good thing.

IMG_1925

Capsicums!!

Wine time.

 

Leave a Reply

