Incoming holiday time

I’m nearly at the point of being able to think about what to do over the holidays.

I simply don’t have that much headspace to plan as it has been a fairly challenging year, that I will be very glad to see the back of.

I’ll be spending decent time with my kids. Starting with this weekend, and then on and off during the break. This year I’ll see them on Christmas Day more than last year, and I’m pretty happy about that.

Minimal family time is also a bonus. I don’t like the expectation of spending time with family that for 11 months of the year, ignore me or annoy me. I don’t like pasting a fake smile on my face and pretending that everything is awesome. Again, I don’t have the energy.

I have a week booked in January for camping with my kids. This has become a ritual, and something we all look forward to and enjoy.

My 12 year old son has indicated that I need to spend quality personal time playing Destiny. So, as we are both gamers and gamers talk about levels and progress, we can talk about levels and progress. So I will. (I also need to spend time roaming Diablo III just for the therapeutic benefits of a little bit of hack and slash).

I have my traditional Lord Of The Rings (extended) marathon day to prepare for.

Then there is Quentin Tarantino day, X-files day, Marvel day…

Sleep will also feature.

I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

